Skagit County

Tulip Field in April, Skait Valley, Washington State, USA.

Skagit County /ˈskædʒᵻt/ is a county in the U.S. state of Washington. As of the 2010 census, the population was 116,901.[1] The county seat and largest city is Mount Vernon.[2] The county was formed in 1883 from Whatcom County[3] and is named for the Skagit Indian tribe, which has been indigenous to the area prior to European-American settlement.

Skagit County comprises the Mount Vernon-Anacortes, WA Metropolitan Statistical Area, and is included in the Seattle-Tacoma, WA Combined Statistical Area. It is located in the Puget Sound region.


%d bloggers like this: